Article One: We believe in one true and living God and that there are three persons in the Godhead, the Father, the Son, and the Holy Ghost, and these three are One.

Article Two: We believe that the scriptures of the Old and New Testament are the word of God and only rule of faith and practice.

Article Three: We believe in the doctrine of election, predestination, and the final perseverance of the saints through grace, and that God chose His people in Christ before the world began.

Article Four: We believe in the doctrine of original sin and impotency of man’s recovery in and of himself from the fallen state which is in by nature.

Article Five: We believe that sinners are justified only in the sight of God by the imputed righteousness of Jesus Christ.

Article Six: We believe that God’s elect shall be called and regenerated and sanctified by the Holy Ghost.

Article Seven: We believe that baptism and the Lord’s Supper are ordinances instituted by the Lord Jesus Christ and true believers in Him are the only subjects Christ instituted these ordinances for, and that baptism by immersion is the only proper mode.

Article Eight: We believe in a resurrection of the dead and a general judgment, and that the felicity of the righteous and the punishment of the wicked will be [eternal]*.

*NOTE: These are the original Articles of Faith, adopted May 15, 1847 (Saturday before the third Sunday in May, 1847). As the document is torn and tattered in some places, we have supplied the intended word as noted by asterisk (*). The church still holds to these Articles of Faith today.